It's a pain in the ...
Like many chronic illnesses, people with Fibromyalgia have good days and bad days and everything in between. Some days may have so little pain, comparatively, that it is almost like not being sick. Almost. Average pain days can slow a person down considerably. Bad pain days, well, those are often spent in bed. On those days, breathing hurts. Pain relievers can help, but the pain is never completely gone. And it is a complete pain in the ass because any day can be any level of pain. Hardly any pain today can be followed by a maximum pain day tomorrow.
How do we cope?
Any positive way we can.
I emphasize positive because at one point in my life I used alcohol to ease my symptoms. That was counterproductive for me. It is a disinhibitor, which was very bad for a person with already lowered inhibitions during a manic episode. It was also extra bad for me because it lowered my ability to control my Borderline Personality disorder behaviors. And, lastly, since I wasn't supposed to mix my medications with alcohol, I rationalized not taking my meds when I was drinking. Thankfully I learned better ways to cope.
My favorites...
Everyone copes in a different way. I have used some of the worst, I have used some of the best.
Mental/emotional
My favorite and most used is Music. No matter how I am feeling, I can use music to help. This is a cross of distraction and mood adjustment. This is especially helpful when my emotions get overwhelming.
Physical
As I mentioned, some days coping means staying in bed. Since learning to accept my condition, those have become fewer and farther between. I don't have some amazing treatment. I just learned to better read and respect the signals my body gives me. Not pushing my limits one day means being able to get out of bed the next day.
What are your favorite coping skills?
Leave a comment with your favorite ways to cope with your condition.